Welcome to Fat Positive Fertility – a three month fertility program and twelve month community support designed to guide you through growing your family in our weight-obsessed world.

I want you to have people in your corner who wholeheartedly believe (and have the evidence to back it up!) that you can and should get pregnant at the weight you are now. 

I want you to have the support to rediscover that your body is a phenomenal force that is capable of miracles, including getting pregnant and having a wonderful pregnancy.

I want you to find your community of people overcoming these same injustices of not being able to access the support that you deserve and are entitled to when it comes to your fertility.

 In our weight-obsessed world, it’s so hard to find support and care that doesn’t focus on weight-loss and doesn’t make you feel shame around wanting to grow your family. You bounce from doctor to doctor trying to find someone who will investigate why you haven’t gotten pregnant yet and offer you a real solution but the only thing you hear is “lose weight and come back in six months”

As part of my work as a fertility coach, I dove into the research around fat fertility and by reflecting on my own lived experiences in my fat body, I realised (and have the evidence to back me up!) that our bodies are incredibly capable of getting pregnant and having healthy pregnancies.

What’s holding us back is not the fat on our bodies but the fat-phobia in our medical systems. The way that we are treated by healthcare professionals means that we don’t get access to the same tests and treatments that people in smaller bodies do. 

Instead of telling you to lose weight, we work together to figure out what regular habit you can incorporate into your life to get you from where you are now to your own version of what health looks like.

Instead of withholding tests and treatments, we learn how to get the data we need about our bodies from the tools that are available to us and to advocate with other healthcare professionals in our team to influence them into providing us with the tests and treatments we need.

Instead of invaliding your lived experience and labeling you as “non-compliant”, we will work together to honour your lived experience and use that knowledge to inform the decisions you make about your body and your wellbeing.

Instead of dismissing your mental health as irrelevant, we focus on how we can support your mental health throughout your journey and use your mindset to your advantage instead of it working against you.

About me

Hi Folks, I’m Nicola (she/her).

I’m a fat-positive fertility coach who supports fat people who want to get pregnant.

I was diagnosed with PCOS at 16 and told I would never get pregnant, but *spoiler alert* it turns out the doctors were wrong.

I live in the UK with my husband and two young sons and advocate for change in how fat people are treated whilst accessing help with their fertility. 

My unique FAT+ve  framework can help you define your own version of health without dieting, advocate for yourself, relearn how to trust your body and believe in your ability to get pregnant.

For close to a decade I’ve been working in the fertility field with fat people who want to get pregnant. 

  • I’m a qualified acupuncturist and naturopath, spending years specialising in fertility.
  • I’m a trained integrative fertility coach 
  • I’m the author of “Fat and Fertile”, the only book about getting pregnant as a fat person.
  • Prior to finding my calling working with fertility, I completed a BSc in Physical Science, an MSc in Medical Engineering and Physics and worked as a clinical scientist so my work is always rooted in research and is evidence-based.

Fat-Positive Fertility is the culmination of my experience working within the fertility field and 20 years living in my fat body. Together we will be exploring how you can take the best care of your health and fertility using my unique FAT+ve fertility framework.

The FAT+ve Framework

F – Formulate. We’ll be building an action plan of steps to support your health that don’t involve dieting and weight loss so that you can take small, manageable steps each week to your vision of health, without feeling overwhelmed. You will feel confident that you are taking positive action. Get acquainted with what the science and evidence really say about fat bodies and pregnancy, not just what biased health professionals tell us.

A – Advocate. You will get trained in how to advocate for yourself with healthcare professionals, work colleagues and your friends and family. This will allow you to influence the care that you receive, create strong boundaries with others and learn how to get your needs met from others.

T – Trust. We will explore tools and techniques that will support you in relearning how to trust your body. For so long we’ve been taught that our bodies aren’t good enough and that they have failed us. Nothing could be further from the truth. You will learn how to build a strong relationship with your body so that you can feel safe in it and have complete trust that it is able to support you in your desire to grow your family.

+ve – Positive Mindset. You will build a toolbox of ways that you can support your mental health so that you can have confidence that you are worthy of support and are going to be a phenomenal parent.

Three-month (ten module) program that dives deep into the FAT+ve framework.

Each module is a stand-alone guided process that will lead you through informational and mindset tools specifically designed to face the unique challenges that we see as fat people seeking fertility support. The course is 3 months long, but life doesn’t work that way, so you’ll get access to the course content for 12 months. You can work through each module at your own pace, taking it one step at a time. Modules include: formulate your healthcare plan, creating a supportive healthcare team, preparing for healthcare appointments, building a toolkit of ways you can support your mental health, your relationship with food and so much more.

Three months of personal support.

For the three months of the program, you will have personal access to me in a number of ways – drop into weekly office hours on zoom to ask questions via video chat or send me a voice note via voxer to receive a personal voice note back. During these weekly touchstones, you can ask me any questions you have about your own experiences, your own care and any of the things you’ve worked through in the program.

Twelve months access to the FAT+ve fertility hub 

The hub contains lots of additional and extra resources to support you throughout the year. Whilst the modules guide you through the process, the hub acts as a library that you can dip in and out of for specific resources including workbooks, meditations and so much more. The hub will be added to throughout your time in the program with any requests you have for additional tools.

Twelve months access to the intimate facebook group with others working through the program 

You will have access to the group over the year that we work together and I will be there with you every step of the way. The group will act as a place where we can get to know each other, share our experiences and questions throughout the program, provide a check in point each week and weekly live videos on specific questions and topics relevant to the program.

What does it look like?

When you join the program, you will get immediate access to all 10 modules in the program and the FAT+ve fertility hub. These resources are all housed online so that you are able to work through them and download everything you need via your computer or phone at any time.

You will be added to the facebook group.

You will get a weekly email on Monday, sharing the scheduled events that will be happening that week. These include:

Monday – Weekly check-in

Weekly check in via a quick 5 minute form. This is our opportunity to review how our week has been and plan our week ahead. I will guide you through this process and check-in with you via email about how things are going.

Wednesday11am – 12noon UK ( 5am CDT / 3am PDT / 6am EDT / 9pm AEST ) 5 – 6pm UK ( 11am CDT / 9am PDT / 12 noon EDT / 3am AEST )

2 hours of drop-in office hours. For two hours, you will be able to drop into my zoom room to ask me any questions that you have. You can come for the whole time or just drop in when is convenient for you.

Thursday6am – 7pm UK (12 midnight – 1pm CDT / 10pm – 11am PDT / 1am – 2pm EDT / 4pm – 5am AEST )

Voxer support. From 6am – 7pm (GMT) you will be able to send me a message via voxer (a free app you can download to your phone) either as a text message or a voice note and I will answer all the questions you have.

Thursday 9pm UK (3pm CDT / 1pm PDT / 4pm EDT / 7am AEST )

Topic specific facebook live. Together we will work through a specific tool or topic from the program.

Investment options: 

$1500 / £1200 upfront payment

$500 / £400 per month over three months.

$125 / £100 per month over twelve months.

Need a different payment plan? The answer is probably yes, send me a quick email nicola@nicolasalmon.co.uk and we’ll sort it out.

*I don’t charge extra for payment plans as they penalise folks in our most marginlaised communities. As a woman entrepreneur I am undercapitalized. That means I’m self-financing and bootstrapping my program startup expenses out of cashflow…so if you can afford to pay in full, I’d really appreciate it if you did that.

Equity pricing is available.  See FAQs for all the details. 

 

What is your refund policy?

This program comes with a 14 day no questions asked refund policy. No refunds will be accepted after 14 days.

What are the terms of the program?

You have access to the program materials and facebook group for 1 calendar year after payment has been made. There will be the option to extend your membership for an additional fee of $500/£400 per year once your initial year is complete.

 

You have access to personal support via zoom office hours and voxer support for 3 calendar months after payment has been made. There will be the option to continue this support for an additional monthly fee of $250/£200 once the three months are complete.

 

Refund policy: This program comes with a 14 day no questions asked refund policy. No refunds will be accepted after 14 days.

A condition of being in the facebook group is adherence to the rules of the group Being a member of the facebook group is a privilege not a right. Fatphobia, racism, sexism, misogynistic language, homophobia, ableism, xenophobia, transphobia, etc. will NOT be tolerated. We reserve the right to remove members for breaching the rules. You are not entitled to an extended refund just because you are removed from the group.

I have PCOS/ Endometriosis / Adenomyosis / Hypothalamic Amenhorrea is this program suitable for me?

The skills, tools and community in this program is suitable for folks with all different health conditions. 

As the course grows, I will include resources specific to the type of help you need, including resources around how to manage different health conditions such as PCOS, endometrosis, adenomyosis, hypothalamic amenhorrea and other related conditions.

I'm just starting TTC. Is this course for me?

Absolutely. This course will give you all the tools and support you need to grow your family with confidence in your body and the skills you learn will be so helpful throughout your pregnancy and beyond.

What if I get pregnant during the course?

I designed this course to grow with you. As you get pregnant, I’ll be creating specific resources for each stage and potential challenge through pregnancy, birth and post partum.

All the skills you learn will be even more relevant throughout your pregnancy.

 

Tell me more about equity pricing

Once I reach my revenue goal for the program, I will be making 20% of the spots available via a pay-what-you-can model. Priority will be given to those from non-dominant identities.

If you would benefit from the program but are unable to financially invest and would like to be considered for one of the spots, please email nicola@nicolasalmon.co.uk with your name, email and if you identify with any non-dominant identities.

I trust that you will only ask for this spot if you need it and no form of proof will be required. 

Once you are accepted, you will receive a link and you will choose a monthly contribution for 12 months. If your circumstances change, you will be able to amend this at anytime.